## NHB Annual Meeting Minutes October 15, 2019

- 1. Karla Laubenthal called the meeting to order at 9:28 am.
- Steering Committee ballots were collected for counting by Jerry Stamp and David Carlson. Candidates included Bill Blanchard (Clarinet), Chuck Hesse (Trumpet), Kay Schneider (Flute) and Sheila Stevenson (Percussion). Current Steering Committee members are Adele Monserud and Jerry Stamp (2020) and Donna Grundstad and Sue Dallam (2021).
- 3. Annual Meeting Minutes of 2018 were reviewed. Al Grundstad moved to approve the minutes. Alice Atkinson seconded the motion. The minutes were approved.
- 4. Summary of 2018-2019:
  - a. Much appreciation to Nolan Hauta for his leadership in this year of transition.
  - b. In spring 2019, Dr. Adam Harry replaced Erin Weir in the Music Education Department at the University of Iowa. With his input, student directors are now contracted (paid directly) through Friends of ICNHB rather than through the University.
  - c. There has been a restructuring of Monday Night Live which now has its own steering committee, by-laws and a representative on the FICNHB Board..
  - d. The Storage unit at the Hoover Highway/I-80 storage facility has been reorganized. Thanks to the addition of 3 large filing cabinets, one purchased from Craig's list and the others donated by Zion Lutheran Church and Dave Parsons.
  - e. A piece of music has been commissioned for our 25th Anniversary. This was organized by Nolan and paid for by the band. It will be available to us after it's debut in May.
  - f. At the spring concert everyone was invited to contribute food items for the new food bank at the Senior Center. The plan is to continue donating at future concerts at the Senior Center.
  - g. Band and Ensemble concerts at the Senior Center will now begin at 2:00 instead of 2:30.
  - h. Nancy Wombacher presented a written report from the Friends of the Iowa City New Horizon Band. (Attached)
  - i. Thank you's:
    - i. FICNHB Board for all their time and efforts. (The 5th Annual Report of FICNHB is attached.)
    - ii. Dr. Harry for being our University of Iowa liaison and for helping find student directors for our band, Monday Night Live and ensembles.
    - iii. Josh Neuenschwander, Nolan Hauta and all of our great student directors.
    - iv. LaTasha Loach and Michelle Buhman at the Senior Center
    - v. Volunteer directors: Steve Helscher, Steve Murphy, Roscoe Porch.
    - vi. Donna Grundstad, Secretary

- vii. Treasurer: Sue Dallam with assistance from Jerry Stamp
- viii. Jerry Stamp for maintaining the web site and creating concert posters
- ix. Adele Monserud, our graphic designer for the brochure and programs.
- x. Steve Murphy, for his service on the steering committee.
- xi. Bob Hansen, Financial Officer for FICNHB.
- xii. Martin Hill, music ordering and pick-up.
- xiii. Jeanette Carter and Sheila Stevenson, Music Librarians.
- xiv. Photocopy Committee: Jeanette Carter, Glo Berry, Nancy Wombacher, Adele Monserud, David Carlson, Judy Schroeder.
- xv. Jean Hill, Directory updates and providing greeting cards for members.
- xvi. Jerry Zinn and Adele Monserud for the selling of donated instruments.
- xvii. Joyce Marner, Press Citizen liaison.
- xviii. Grant Writers: Steve Schomberg and Nancy Wombacher.
- 5. Plans for 2019-2020
  - a. Nolan Hauta has commissioned a piece of music for the band from a UI student for his son Milo.
  - b. Dues will increase in January to \$75 per semester and \$45 for the summer. This is the first time dues have been increased. If it is a problem for anyone, they should see a member of the steering committee.
  - c. This fall, Friends of ICNHB, LLC was awarded a grant through the Community Foundation of Johnson County, entitled "Silver Anniversary of Lifelong Music Making". It was funded by the Wallace Family Fund. The amount was \$4159.80. A report will be due in June 2020.
  - d. Anniversary Celebration
    - i. Planning committee members are Alice Atkinson, David Carlson, Jan Hanson, Jean and Martin Hill, Donna Grundstad, Karla Labenthal, Judy Schroeder. Additional volunteers would be welcome, especially those with experience at band camps.
    - Don Coffman, Roy Ernst (Founder of NHB), Nolan Hauta and Josh Neuenschwander are willing to direct and celebrate with us. Hopefully, the five people who originally met and planned the band will also be able to attend a celebration event.
    - iii. There will be a concert at CCPA on July 27, at the end of the camp.
  - e. We need a volunteer to write an article for the Press Citizen. If you are interested, see Joyce Marner. The article is due by November 25, 2019.
  - f. Jean Hill announced that directory updates are available. Notify Jean if there are any mistakes.
  - g. Open Discussion:
    - i. Student directors do not get course credit for their work with the band.
    - ii. Would summer dues include the band camp? Those details have not yet been decided.
    - iii. What is the cost of performing at CCPA? We haven't paid in the past, but the cost for the band camp concert will be paid through the grant. When

we play at the Englert, we share the cost with the Community Band. (See attached budget.)

h. Election Results: Chuck Hesse and Sheila Stevenson were elected to serve on the Steering Committee through 2022.

Jean Hill made a motion to adjourn and it was seconded by Jan Rawley. The meeting was adjourned at 9:50.

Respectfully Submitted, Donna Grundstad